2022 Mayor’s Scholarship for Community Leadership Now Open for Applications

2022 Mayor’s Scholarship for Community Leadership Now Open for Applications

The annual Mayor’s Scholarship for Community Leadership is now accepting applications.  The $1,000 scholarship is open to grade twelve students from across Winnipeg.

“Throughout my time as Mayor, I have had the privilege of engaging Winnipeg’s youth through a number of initiatives and I know they are a force to be reckoned with,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “The Mayor’s Scholarship for Community Leadership is an opportunity to recognize and reward youth achievement on issues that require strong leadership. Winnipeg’s young leaders are a valuable resource and we need to ensure we are harnessing their passion and ability.”

In 2016, the Mayor’s Scholarship for Community Leadership was introduced as a way to recognize and support students who have demonstrated consistent and outstanding dedication to solving a community problem or making their community a better place to live. Applicants can demonstrate community leadership through activities that promote racial and social inclusion, drive reconciliation, encourage environmental stewardship, and support or empower Winnipeg’s less fortunate.

Scholarship applicants must complete and submit an application form. The form, including application criteria, can be found on the Mayor’s website. Only application forms completed in full will be considered. The Winnipeg Foundation manages the fund for the Mayor’s Scholarship, including issuing scholarship cheques and tax receipts, as required. The Mayor’s Office manages application intake, and award recipients are selected by an independent selection panel.

Applications must be received by May 20, 2022. For more information on the Mayor’s Scholarship, visit: https://www.mayorbowman.ca/applications/mayors-scholarship.

At a virtual reception in July of last year, the Mayor awarded scholarships to the following recipients:
Alexina Nault – Collège Sturgeon Heights Collegiate
Avinashpall Singh – River East Collegiate
Devaine Ashly Persaud – Windsor Park Collegiate
Nyja Bond – Westwood Collegiate
Paige Moritz – Dakota Collegiate

“I look forward to meeting and awarding this year’s successful applicants,” said Mayor Bowman.